Maps of the Visayas.

There are three major geographical groups in the Philippines: Luzon, Visayas and Mindanao.South of the island of Luzon, north of  Mindanao and east of Palawan is the Visayas, which  is in fact a group of islands in the middle of the Philippines.


(Maps on this page copyright by E. Falch, Stavanger, Norway)

The Visayan region is made up of about 6,000 islands including Panay, Guimaras and Negros in the Western Visaya region. In the Central Visayas are Cebu, Bohol, Siquijor, Romblon and another part of the island Negros the islands, and the Eastern Visayas have the islands Samar, Biliran and Leyte in the region.

The Eastern Visayas is devided in to 6 provinces and these are Northern Samar, Samar, Eastern Samar, Biliran, Leyte and Southern Leyte. Commercial and industrial development has been limited to the two major cities of Tacloban and Ormoc. The rest of the region remains basically unspoiled with little development and relatively poor infrastructure.

The climate has no distinct wet and dry season. Rainfall is more prominent between November and January. Thyphoons from the Pacific usually hit Eastern Samar during late part of the year. It is usually hot and humid between March and May.

Boris Brak, August 2001 - Comments: The Webmaster